Tell Me Now, Don’t Hold Back #amwriting #fiction


Continued from I Knew It Was Too Good To Be True.

https://pixabay.com

I stared back at Genevieve’s guard, his gun, then at her. So, it has come to this? I’ve been here, working my ass off to pay off a debt I hadn’t started in the first place, and a gun is pointed in my damn face.

“What the hell? What’s going on?” I said in a rushed, trying to keep my voice down. I would hate for my client to be frighten. Then I remembered Genevieve had mentioned her upon entering.

“Kevin, we need to speak to your client. It will only take a moment,” Genevieve explained as she stood tall, glaring at me like I done something wrong.

I was taken aback, because normally, she wouldn’t behave in this manner. The normalcy of her personality when it comes to women is extreme jealousy. Right now, I cannot diagnose the problem even if someone serves it on a fine china platter.

“Something I should kn-“

“Just call her out. It’s urgent,” Genevieve said, pointing in the direction of my bathroom.

I blinked. Just as I turned around, she ambles out with a lavender terry-cloth robe wrapped tightly around her body. A white towel is draped over her left shoulder as she used one end to dry her hair.

“So, what normally happens after-” her words trailed on as she noticed someone other than us in the room. Her green eyes fixated on Genevieve and then her guard with his Glock dangling from his right hand.

She appeared undisturbed; in fact, in her eyes held a challenging stare like she is prepared for a duel.

“Look, Tracey, I need for you to verify something for me, for security reasons,” Genevieve said, walking up to her.

“Okay, but it make it quick. I didn’t pay to be interrogated, so whatever you have to say, say it now or knock off a hundred dollars of the money I gave you upon arriving,” Tracey replied defiantly.

Genevieve gave her a long stare that said, “don’t go there with me.”


“I don’t know what that was all about, but Genny normally doesn’t act that way.” I assured Tracey, taking her hand and leading her to my cream-colored chaise lounge.

She quietly followed behind me and sat even quieter as I gazed into her eyes. She looks back at me with this expression I couldn’t pinpoint. No one wants to discuss Genevieve and her pit bull of a guard, and their unknown reason for busting in the way they had.

To be honest, I’m not sure if I can carry on with tonight with the usual stuff like I would with any client. This particular one here, still staring at me like she’s peering deep into my soul, frazzled me to the core.

I carefully traced the outline of her hand, feeling the heat radiating from her igniting; it warmed me up. She leans forward, and I took that moment to kiss her soft lips.

The moment felt so right, perfect timing, as our lips meshed. I used one hand to snake around her waist pulling her closer to me, while the other caresses her face and slender neck. Her ruby-red fingernails raked through the small hairs on my chest sending shock waves to my system.

All past apprehensions seemed to have melted away. She moans softly, bringing the kiss deeper. I’m thinking she wants this. Whatever she wants, it’s her night.

However, as I reach for the belt of her robe to open it, she alarmingly jerked back. Her eyes widen. She went stocked still. The color drained from her face leaving me in utter shock.

What’s wrong now? I wondered. I couldn’t believe we are back to being estranged.

“What is it now?” I asked, trying not to sound impatient. It is becoming unbearable to think you’re sure about something, feel it deep within yourself just to have it slapped you across the face.

Tracey stood up, muttering as she did so, trying to form the right words to tell me whatever it was that kept her hostage since she first arrived here.

“Tell me now what you want to say, and don’t hold back,” I demanded.

“Okay, okay. I’m a private investigator hired by your parents to find you,” she explained, appearing relieved.

My what did what now? I pondered the thought.

By: Pamela E. Hester ©2017

This concludes Part 3. Thank you for being patient with me as I write this post. I’m thinking of writing Part 4, but we’ll see. 😉

2 thoughts on “Tell Me Now, Don’t Hold Back #amwriting #fiction

What are your thoughts?

