Be Strong…You’re Gonna Need To


Courtesy of Google Image
Courtesy of Google Image

For every dollar I’ve heard that, I would have thousands of dollars. Lol. I never had any guts coming up and often got picked on. Or cry when someone put me down about something. Or get scared to move forward based on what someone said. Until my late father once told me, “Pamela, stop all that d–n crying! Everybody’s not going to like you or like what you do.” “You have to make the best out of a situation with what you have.”The other day I was on Goodreads where I signed up years ago to begin my writing career, which went kaput by the way at one point, but it’s cool now. Yet, at the same time whenever I read a book or check the Goodreads site for a book out there to read, I’ll ease on down to the reviews. Some were good and most were shocking.

It’s like the reader hated the story like it was based on their own life and it was traumatic. They left mean reviews but everyone is entitles to their own opinion. I know that now and at that time it had discouraged me from writing. Well, from putting my book out there. (And would you believe it when I posted on my blog about what my book was about, someone hounded me very badly for a few days on because my main characters are similar to people she knew. I had to blocked her.)

Long story short, the book written, edited (my own), emotions all over the place with my characters stressing with each other and fussing with me, and ready to find a professional editor, I took a glance at the reviews again the other day.

I’m doing a reading challenge on reading 50 or more books this year for Goodreads. So there I was, searching for a recommended book, typed in my fave author’s name and after reading the excerpt, I saw a review(the first one) and the reader blasted on the author. She did not like the book to its finest. Then after her, everyone followed suit with more bad reviews. She also was actually giving writers advice on how and what to write. A whole screen worth of her rants. I was like “dang, for real?”

My thing is you’ll have your days where you’re sitting back sipping merlot and some days you will stare at the screen hoping your next book will be a success.

Can’t give up though. I just want to share this tidbit of information to not let reviews about your book get you down. Get that book out there. Someone wants to read it. Take care.

4 thoughts on “Be Strong…You’re Gonna Need To

  1. Pamela,
    You are so right about letting the reviews go and not letting them into your head. There are enough challenges in writing a novel without letting someone else toss doubt onto the characters, plots or words. Looking forward to reading SECRETS UNVEIL

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

