Writing Challenge (Day 24) Something I Miss 



Oftentimes when I sit back and ponder on life and how far I come, I think about the things that I missed. Yes, some may call it daydreaming since I do that a lot lately, more than ever, yet I can’t help but dwell on what I missed or missed out on in life.

Today’s challenge allows me to do just that. So today, I want to share with you all the things I miss.

First off, I missed my dad. For a long time before his passing, he fought to save his family. My siblings and I was taken away and placed in the CPS (Child Protective Services). Not trying to get into the details, but all I could remembered was the promises he made on getting his family back, to be a  better man, but to fight harder to do right. I was twelve and I kept those promises and hope alive, praying that one day our family will reunite.

Although my dad kept his promises and became a better man, it was too late. He died at the age of 39, November 17, 2003.

I missed his smiles, laughter, and dry jokes. He was able to watched me walked across the stage at my high school graduation. I… I’m going to get off this for a moment. You can read a related post here.

I don’t tend to miss objects I had or an event. They’re always replaceable or a redo. I do missed times being spent with someone or alone. Most times when you missed a person that arrived into your life whether in a physical body or online, it can be an emotional thing. But, you learned to get through it the way you know how. It takes me awhile, depends on the type of relationship I had with the person.

I also miss how times used to be, so carefree and vivacious. I miss courtship, no one seem to do that anymore. Most of all, I miss life before social media.

What do you missed? How were you able to get through it, if you have?


6 thoughts on “Writing Challenge (Day 24) Something I Miss 

  1. Profound, as usual. Is writing one of your outlets to help you on your journey to wholeness regarding the passing of your father? I’m grateful that he was here to experience some of your life’s milestones and that the memory you keep of him is precious. Thanks for sharing. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

What are your thoughts?

