Writing Challenge (Day 9) Feelings Toward Ageism 



What is ageism?

Ageism is the stereotyping or discrimination of a person or group of people because of their age.

Today’s writing challenge is about my feelings toward ageism. I remember a time when I was a kid my grandma told me she couldn’t get this particular job because of her age. She was in good health, got around okay, and looked young for her age, but she was denied the job.

Ageism has been problem before I was even born, I’m sure. From being denied a job to being treated as a burden to society. Most people (and most aren’t even elderly) are placed in a nursing home and get mistreated. Majority are there because their families are unable to care for them, for health issues or they are just too “old” to care for.

What exactly is too old may I ask? My opinion is that being “old” is a state of mind. Yet I wish society can stop putting age on just about everything. One woman wanted to further her career as a model, she’s  knocking at sixties door. “Isn’t she too old?” Society would say. Or, how about this 70-year-old gymnast who defeated all odds to continue to live out her dream of doing gymnastics.


Even with beauty. You see someone with gray(silver) hair, you can’t automatically think they are some old person. No. A female I know in her early thirties has gray hair. No dye. I also can’t stand to hear anyone say, “She/He look okay for an old person.” Say what now? Society even sucks when they think if you’re past age 45, you’re not sexy enough. Or, if you’re up in age you can’t do certain things on your own.   And, also, for young people, you’re not wise enough to make certain decisions.

Even at most ages, you aren’t old enough to be a supervisor and most employees doesn’t want anyone younger than them to be their boss.

Even if you’re younger than 45, from my experiences, to being told that I’m not old enough to understand certain things because I haven’t quite “grown up enough” yet.

I feel that no matter what age you are, you are magnificent. You can do anything you set your heart to do. No person on this earth should be discriminated because of their age, or of anything at all.

This concludes today’s challenge. Thanks for reading and share your thoughts.

2 thoughts on “Writing Challenge (Day 9) Feelings Toward Ageism 

What are your thoughts?

