Life

Writing Challenge (Day 2)- Earliest Memories Uncovered


For Day 2 of this writing challenge, I am to write about my earliest memories and since I don’t care to share that, I shall move further into my teen years.

I have never been popular in middle or high school, yet most folks will come to me for advice. For if you haven’t noticed, I’m more of an introvert. I will emulate a hermit crab when I feel the need to shut off the world or when I’m scared or angry. Most times I will lash out when I’m angry if I feel like I’m being mistreated or bullied. I’m also an Aries and I blame most of my personality on that dreaded zodiac sign.

I have spent the most better parts of my life shutting myself off from the world. Throw some ear buds in my ear and drown out the woes of the world with various genres of music. I’m empathic, intensely, and will make someone else problems my own.

One time in middle school, a girl found out she was pregnant and was afraid of her mother finding out. She had to be about thirteen then and I felt bad for her. My own life was in shambles and oftentimes I was afraid of “home”. Afraid to do anything or simply just be because I was in an environment that didn’t suited me. No matter what I do wasn’t good enough.

I held the weight of the world on my shoulders, especially when my siblings and I was taken away from our parents to go live with a relative who could had care less about us. Greed blind-sighted most, and my entire teen years hardened me for I would walked around with a huge chip on my shoulder. I could never understand how the authorities could take children out of a happy, loving home into something so sinister.

As time dwelled on, I left, more like ran away. I moved in with cousins who cared enough to take me in. I felt better about me, enjoyed being a teen even graduated from high school on time.

As I think back on my memories that I thought were exorcised, I went through downfalls after another, roller coaster rides that spiraled out of control to being thrown flat on my face. I don’t claimed to be perfect, obviously, but I tried to do my best in this crazy world. How can a person take advantage of another? Used and abused them? How you treat your children when they are coming up may impact their lives for the better or the worst.

It has been a bit difficult to do Day 2 of this challenge. Reaching back to the far recesses of your mind that held dark, ugly truths and memories, is too much to deal with. I left out a lot, cause some are a little too personal and I sometimes wonder if I can tell that story.

Thanks for reading.

Follow me on Twitter

Like on Facebook

3 thoughts on “Writing Challenge (Day 2)- Earliest Memories Uncovered”

What are your thoughts?

